Have Queries? Fill in the form below & get the best deals.
Please enter a valid Email-ID
Please enter mobile number
Please enter Holiday Type
Please enter the destination
Please enter hub

north east FAQs

1)Which states make up the north east?
The north east is made up of eight states: Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim and Tripura

2)How many days are required for a trip though the north east?
If you want to cover all the states in one trip, you will need around 15 days to cover the entire north east. But, if you’re looking to cover each state one by one, 5-7 days are enough for each state.

3)Which is the cheapest state in the North East?
Mizoram is the most pocket friendly state to visit in the north east.

4)Is it safe to travel to the north east?
Absolutely yes, it is safe to travel to the north east.

5)Which are the major airports in the north east?
Following are the major international airports in the north east:
Lokpriya Gopinath Bordoloi International Airport, Guwahati
Imphal International Airport, Manipur
Silchar Airport, Assam
Dibrugarh Airport, Assam
Dimapur Airport, Nagaland
Agartala Airport, Tripura

6)Is Sikkim a part of the seven sisters?
Sikkim was made a part of the north east on 15th May 1975.

7)Do I need any special permissions to visit the North East?
Assam, Meghalaya and Tripura do not need any permits to visit. Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Manipur and Nagaland, however, require an ILP or Inner Line Permit to visit.

While Sikkim does not require an Inner Line Pass to visit, there are certain areas that need an ILP: Menmecho Lake, Tsomgo Lake, Nathu La and Kupup in the east. Chopta, Chungthang, Lachung, Thangu, Yumesamdong, Yumthang Valley, Lachen and Gurudongmar Lake in the north.

8)Where can I start a road trip through the North East?
Guwahati is the best place to start a road trip across the North East. It is one of the biggest cities in the region when you can get the Inner Line Passes for other states quite easily.

9)Does it snow in the North East?
Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim are the two north east states that receive seasonal snowfall during winter.

10)Why is the North East referred to as the Seven Sisters?
The sobriquet of Seven Sisters was first coined in 1972 by a journalist named Jyoti Prakash Salgia during the inaugural foundation of these north eastern states of India. Despite the ethnic disparities, all the states in the region share similar geographical and cultural features. Initially, they also shared the isolation from the rest of India which lead to a mutual interdependence of social, political and economic nature. Though Sikkim joined this group in 1975, it is often referred to as a brother rather than the eighth sister. Therefore, these north eastern states are still collectively referred to as the seven sisters.

Best Domestic Packages

Best International Packages

Our Featured Blogs

have us call you back!
have us call you back!
Please enter a valid Email-ID
Please enter a valid mobile number
You missed this
You missed this
I accept Privacy Policy and I authorise Thomas Cook Group Companies to contact me.